Like all computers, the Apple iPhone occasionally needs a reboot. You can do this by giving it a "soft reset". This does not remove app, songs, contacts or anything else stored on your iPhone. It basically just reboots the phone without following the normal shutdown procedures.
There is different procedure to do a full "hard reset" and this will remove everything and restore your iPhone to its factory settings.
Method 1 of 2: Soft Reset
Press and hold the Home button (big circle below the screen) and the Sleep/Wake button (on top of the iPhone) simultaneously.
Continue holding both buttons until the iPhone shuts off and begins to restart. This will take anywhere from 10-20 seconds.
- Assuming your iDevice isn't totally crashed and unresponsive, you will be offered the ability to power off at this point. If you take that option, remember to turn your phone back on when you are done. Alternatively, you can ignore the power off request and continue holding continue. following the steps below.
Don't be alarmed that it takes quite a while to load from the Apple logo to the main screen. This is normal.
Method 2 of 2: Hard Reset
Go to "Settings"
Select "General"
Scroll down to select "Reset". Here you will have various options, the main ones being:
- Reset All Settings
- Reset Network Settings
- Erase All content and Settings
- Selecting "Erase All Content and Settings" is what constitutes a Hard Reset. Your phone
- It is recommended to carry out a soft reset when your phone starts presenting peculiar behaviour, as this clears the phone's memory and can solve many minor problems. Some people recommend a soft reset regularly. Some poorly written apps or ones that crashed can leave things in the phone's memory, and this action clears them out. Powering off the iPhone is similar to the soft reset but not quite as effective in clearing out the phone's memory.
Hard Reset Setting
"Erase All Content and Settings" will do as it says! Make sure you have backed your phone up to iTunes or iCloud before doing this if you are intending to restore it afterwards.will ask you to enter your passcode, and will then ask to confirm.